ICMC will present the


to “recognize a lifetime’s achievement in advancing the knowledge of cryogenic materials”.

The Cryogenic Materials Award for Lifetime Achievements will be presented to the recipient prior to the plenary session on Monday, July 19, 2021.

2021 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient:

Professor Shi Xue Dou
University of Wollongong

Former Recipients

Edward W. Collings 2005
David C. Larbalestier 2007
Kyoji Tachikawa 2009
René Flükiger 2011
Harald Weber 2013
Herbert Freyhardt 2015
Kozo Osamura 2017
Archie Campbell 2018
Teruo Matsushita 2019


The award consists of a certificate, a $2,500 honorarium, a plaque (designed by the Awards Committee), up to $1,000 to cover personal travel expenses to accept the award, and free registration for this year’s conference and two subsequent ICMC conferences.

Nominations can be made by all experts in the field. The nomination will consist of a (two to three page) letter addressed to the Awards Committee Chairman and contain a thorough description of the candidate’s achievements in the field of cryogenic materials. A CV and a publication list of the candidate should be attached.

The nomination letter will address in detail:

  • the quality of his / her research,
  • the innovation of his / her research,
  • the international recognition gained for his / her work,
  • the worldwide reputation of the candidate, and
  • the candidate’s impact on the field.

Three nomination letters will be needed to qualify for the selection procedure. The candidate must either still be active in the field or have recently retired.

The deadline for nominations is May 1, 2021.

Please submit your nominations, preferably by e-mail, to the Awards Committee Chairman:

Prof. Eric Hellstrom
The Applied Superconductivity Center,
National High Magnetic Field Laboratory
Florida State University
2031 E. Paul Dirac Dr
Tallahassee, FL 32310 USA