ICMC will present the


to “recognize a lifetime’s achievement in advancing the knowledge of cryogenic materials”.

The Cryogenic Materials Award for Lifetime Achievements will be presented to the recipient prior to the plenary session on Tuesday, July 23, 2019.

2019 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient:

Professor Teruo Matsushita
Kyushu Institute of Technology

Former Recipients are:

   Edward W. Collings 2005
  David C. Larbalestier     2007
  Kyoji Tachikawa 2009
  René Flükiger 2011
  Harald Weber 2013
  Herbert Freyhardt 2015
  Kozo Osamura 2017
  Archie Campbell 2018


The award consists of a certificate, a $2,500 honorarium, a plaque (designed by the Awards Committee), up to $1,000 to cover personal travel expenses to accept the award, and free registration for this year’s conference and two subsequent ICMC conferences.

Nominations can be made by all experts in the field. The nomination will consist of a (two to three page) letter addressed to the Awards Committee Chairman and contain a thorough description of the candidate’s achievements in the field of cryogenic materials. A CV and a publication list of the candidate should be attached.

The nomination letter will address in detail:

  • the quality of his / her research,
  • the innovation of his / her research,
  • the international recognition gained for his / her work,
  • the worldwide reputation of the candidate, and
  • the candidate’s impact on the field.

Three nomination letters will be needed to qualify for the selection procedure. The candidate must either still be active in the field or have recently retired.

The deadline for nominations is January 16, 2019.

Please submit your nominations, preferably by e-mail, to the Awards Committee Chairman:

Eric Hellstrom
Applied Superconductivity Center, National High Magnetic Field Laboratory
2031 E. Paul Dirac Dr
Tallahassee, FL 32310 USA
Email: hellstrom@asc.magnet.fsu.edu