ICMC will present at the 2023 Conference the


to “recognize a lifetime’s achievement in advancing the knowledge of cryogenic materials”.

The Cryogenic Materials Awards for Lifetime Achievements will be presented after the plenary session Tuesday, July 11, 2023.

2023 Cryogenic Materials Award for Lifetime Achievements Recipients

David Evans
Rutherford Appleton Laboratory and
Advanced Cryogenic Materials Ltd.
United Kingdom
Prof. Xavier Obradors
Institut de Ciència de Materials de Barcelona (ICMAB-CSIC) and
Royal Academy of Sciences and Arts of Barcelona (RACAB)


The award consists of a certificate, a $2,500 honorarium, a plaque (designed by the Awards Committee), up to $1,000 to cover personal travel expenses to accept the award, and free registration for this year’s conference and two subsequent ICMC conferences.

Nominations can be made by all experts in the field. The nomination will consist of a (two to three page) letter addressed to the Awards Committee Chairman and contain a thorough description of the candidate’s achievements in the field of cryogenic materials. A CV and a publication list of the candidate should be attached.

The nomination letter will address in detail:

  • the quality of his / her research,
  • the innovation of his / her research,
  • the international recognition gained for his / her work,
  • the worldwide reputation of the candidate, and
  • the candidate’s impact on the field.

Three nomination letters will be needed to qualify for the selection procedure. The candidate must either still be active in the field or have recently retired.

The deadline for nominations is January 18, 2023.

Please submit your nominations, preferably by e-mail, to the Awards Committee Chairman:

Prof. Eric Hellstrom
The Applied Superconductivity Center,
National High Magnetic Field Laboratory
Florida State University
2031 E. Paul Dirac Dr
Tallahassee, FL 32310 USA

Former Recipients

Edward W. Collings 2005
David C. Larbalestier 2007
Kyoji Tachikawa 2009
René Flükiger 2011
Harald Weber 2013
Herbert Freyhardt 2015
Kozo Osamura 2017
Archie Campbell 2018
Teruo Matsushita 2019
Shi Xue Dou 2021